Astrology- The Signs (part 2)

Astrology is a multifaceted discipline that I use during the character development phase of my writing. This short series attempts to clearly explain the basics over a few blogs.

 In Astrology- The Signs (part 1), readers were introduced to the first four signs of the zodiac, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, and Cancer. In this section, you will get to know the four signs at the center of the zodiac, Leo, Virgo, Libra, and Scorpio.

Catch up on previous astrology blogs:

 Astrology- The Planets Astrology- The Signs (part 1)

Categorizing the Signs

The astrological signs of the zodiac are represented by constellations in the night sky. Each is affiliated both with an element (earth, air, fire, or water) and with a modality (fixed, cardinal, or mutable).

More details about the elements and modalities are available in part 1 of Astrology- The Signs


  • Element: Fire
  • Modality: Fixed
  • Ruling planet: The Sun
  • Symbol: The Lion
  • If you were born between July 23rd and August 22nd, your sun sign is Leo.

    In the fifth zodiac sign, Leo–symbolized by a stately lion–we see the fixed expression of fire. Here it looks more like a blazing bonfire than an explosion, but make no mistake if the fire is left untended or incendiary is added, it will burn out of control. Individuals heavily influenced by the energy of Leo are drawn to leadership roles and typically take to them exceedingly well, energizing their staff and providing stable governance, though under certain circumstances their competitive nature can cause them to become overly prideful and ruthless. Archetypical Leos are, by and large, generous, larger-than-life characters who thrive on attention and devotion, but when slighted or ignored they are known to transform into dangerously wounded lions, occasionally striking out even at those close to them.


  • Element: Earth
  • Modality: Mutable
  • Ruling planet: Mercury
  • Symbol: The Maiden or Virgin
  • If you were born between August 23rd and September 22nd, your sun sign is Virgo.

    At the halfway point of the zodiac stands Virgo, referred to as the virgin or maiden, the mutable earth sign. It is both the sixth sign of the zodiac and the second sign to be ruled by the planet Mercury, a planet named in honor of the Roman god of commerce, communication, and trickery. The virgin, like the other earth signs, loves sensual pleasure and tends to have a calm, nurturing character. As a mutable sign, Virgo is flexible and adaptable, but it also has the practicality of an earth sign. The combination generally results in an individual who is observant, quick-minded, and detail-oriented, but for some, it can transform into perfectionism and hypercritical behaviors. In most cases, the Virgo archetype appears cool and collected on the outside, but deep down it is driven by an intense restlessness that can only be abated when everything is in its proper place.


  • Element: Air
  • Modality: Cardinal
  • Ruling planet: Venus
  • Symbol: The Scales
  • If you were born between September 23rd and October 22nd, your sun sign is Libra.

    Libra, the seventh sign of the zodiac, is represented by the scales and is the only astrological sign to be represented by a non-living symbol. It is here that we meet the social air sign in its cardinal modality. This sign, like Taurus, is ruled by the planet Venus and those that are strongly influenced by Libra find great pleasure in ease and in the finer things. Cardinal signs are typically driven to pursue, and in the case of Libra what they are pursuing is harmony and justice. They are better able than most signs to be able to see both sides of an argument and they are typically able to sort out disagreements using charm, grace, and rational thinking. The ability to see both sides of an argument can also make them a bit indecisive, however, causing them to weigh the pros and cons of a situation for quite some time before coming to a conclusion. Although the Libra archetype generally seeks harmony in all things, their underlying cardinal, competitive nature can trigger argumentative behavior in certain circumstances.


  • Element: Water
  • Modality: Fixed
  • Ruling planets: Mars and Pluto
  • Symbol: The Scorpion
  • If you were born between October 23rd and November 21st, your sun sign is Scorpio

    The eighth sign of the zodiac is Scorpio, one of only three signs to be ruled by not one, but two planets. Mars, a planet associated with ambition, energy, aggression, and impulsiveness, was the ancient ruler of Scorpio, but when Pluto was discovered, a planet linked to the mysteries of creation and destruction, it was also given dominion over this sign. Scorpio is water in its fixed expression, making the ice planet an appropriate choice. Individuals who are heavily influenced by the energy of Scorpio often appear to have an icy but intense out layer to their personality, but these “still waters” often run deep. The fiery passion of Mars can be found at their core, making these characters anything but cold–although their true motivations and passions are often shrouded in shadow and secrecy, only to be exposed to those they trust most deeply.

    In the part three of Astrology- The Signs, we will explore the final four signs of the zodiac, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

    *All zodiac images created by Numerology Sign at

    Astrology- The Signs (part 3)

    Astrology Blog- main menu


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *